#BookReview Mystery at Magpie Lodge by Clare Chase #BlogTour #Bookouture @ClareChase @bookouture

I am delighted to share my review with you today on blog tour for Mystery at Magpie Lodge by Clare Chase….Which is out now

After the black sheep of the Fulton family is found dead, the village of Saxford St Peter is quick to blame it on his past misdeeds. But Eve Mallow is on the hunt for someone closer to home…

When the down-on-his-luck Emory Fulton moves into crumbling Magpie Lodge, and starts running historical tours, the locals are none too pleased. He’s inventing grisly tales about their lovely little village, and disturbing everyone’s peace.

But then he’s found dead in his bath, and everyone is suddenly running scared. Could something strange be happening? After all, the murder mirrors one of Fulton’s stories about Saxford’s dark past…

But Eve Mallow is sure the answers lie in much more recent events.

Accompanied by her stalwart dachshund sidekick Gus, she starts to dig a little deeper. Could it be Fulton’s snobbish bigwig brother, or the suspicious local academic? Why was his goddaughter handing him mysterious parcels, and why wouldn’t his sister-in-law let him in her house?

As Eve unravels the secrets of the living and the dead, one thing is for sure: Fulton was a haunted, hunted man. And if Eve doesn’t crack the case soon, she might find whoever wanted to keep Fulton quiet on her trail too…

An unputdownable page-turner, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Agatha Christie and Betty Rowlands.

My Thoughts

This is the seventh book in the Eve Mallow mystery series. Oh boy where have I been! I have certainly missed a few but I am happy to report that this can be read has a standalone. Although I will be going to read the ones I have missed because I enjoyed this book and Clare’s writing so much.

Clare is without a doubt a modern day Agatha Christie. It is beautifully written and jam packed full of mystery. It is what I call light, enjoyable, cosy reading. That had me hooked from start to finish. I loved the setting at Magpie Lodge and the ghostly feeling with the historical tours. In fact I loved everything about it.

We follow a spooky, atmosphere tail that made me feel like I was in the story. With plenty of clues along the way that keep you guessing until the end. Mystery at Magpie Lodge is the kind of book to snuggle one with on a winters day.

I am left looking forward to reading more of Eva and seeing what is in store for her next. This book is brilliant for old and new fans, you definitely wont be disappointed.

Massive thank you to Noelle at Bookouture for inviting me to take part on this tour.

Buy Link: 

https://geni.us/B09BDDMH3Xsocial

Author Bio

Clare Chase writes classic mysteries. Her aim is to take readers away from it all via some armchair sleuthing in atmospheric locations.

Her debut novel was shortlisted for Novelicious’s Undiscovered Award, as well as an EPIC award post-publication, and was chosen as a Debut of the Month by LoveReading. Murder on the Marshes (Tara Thorpe 1) was shortlisted for an International Thriller Writers award.

Like her heroines, Clare is fascinated by people and what makes them tick. Before becoming a full-time writer, she worked in settings as diverse as Littlehey Prison and the University of Cambridge, in her home city. She’s lived everywhere from the house of a lord to a slug-infested flat and finds the mid-terrace she currently occupies a good happy medium.

As well as writing, Clare loves family time, art and architecture, cooking, and of course, reading other people’s books.

You can find Clare’s website and blog at www.clarechase.com

Social Media

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ClareChaseAuthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ClareChase_

Website: www.clarechase.com 

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/clarechaseauthor/

2 thoughts on “#BookReview Mystery at Magpie Lodge by Clare Chase #BlogTour #Bookouture @ClareChase @bookouture

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.