#TheParents by Claire Seeber #BooksOnTour #Bookouture #PublicationDay #BookReview @claireseeber @bookouture

I am super excited to share my review with you today for The Parents by Clare Seeber. Which is out today

The other parents all seem so perfect. But it’s not long before I realise: I should have never made friends with them…

I knew it wouldn’t be easy for my kids to adjust when we moved to a tiny village where they didn’t know a soul. But after the death of my husband, we needed a fresh start.

Suddenly, we’re outsiders. I know the only way we’ll be accepted is if I throw myself into my new life, so when my son joins a local club, I volunteer to help along with the other parents.

Before moving here, I didn’t know people like this really existed; their lives seem too perfect to be real. Although my own life couldn’t be more different, they welcome me into the fold. For the first time since my husband died, I feel like I made the right decision for my family…

That is until I overhear something that tells me these other parents aren’t as perfect as they seem. Something that turns my world upside down again.

My secret has already ruined my life once. I thought the truth had died with my husband… I should have known that it wouldn’t be buried for long.

A completely addictive page-turner about the secrets and lies hiding beneath seemingly perfect lives. Fans of Big Little Lies, Lisa Jewell and Louise Candlish will be absolutely hooked by this pacey read with a jaw-dropping twist you just won’t see coming.

My Thoughts

I am a massive fan of Clare’s I especially love 24 hours and Step Mother and in comparison to those I left like this story had no action. Instead we have a family drama set round a under 14’s football team. This book reminded me of the television series footballers wives. Which I loved and it made a rather unique story. I am always on the look out for something different and this book is definitely that.

In this story we meet Alex who moves from America to a tiny village in England with her son. After the death of her husband..A village where nobody knows them. Alex has secret but for how long for is the question.

Being from a tiny village myself I know exactly what that is like. People knows things before you know them yourselves. The parents tells the story of secrets, lies, gossip and jealousy.

The Parents is a slow burner with quite a lot of characters to keep up with, each bringing something to the story, then the story ramps up a pace and I couldn’t put it down. I found myself racing to the end to find out what was going to happen. And I have to say I wasn’t expecting that.

This is an entertaining read which I highly recommend.

Thanks to Noelle at Bookouture for a copy and for inviting me to take part on this blog tour

Buy Links: 

Amazon: https://geni.us/B09BW654BDcover 

Apple: http://ow.ly/ggti50FN4j9

Kobo: http://ow.ly/n8pc50FN4i4 

Google: http://ow.ly/ygXH50FN4oH 

Claire Seeber is a Londoner who started her professional life as a (bad) actress and went on to become a documentary maker, lucky enough to travel the world meeting amazing people. Also writing features for newspapers such as the Guardian and Independent, when she had her first baby in 2004, Claire started writing psychological thrillers. The Observer called her first novel, Lullaby, ‘a disturbing debut’ whilst the Guardian called it ‘powerful’. Her third thriller Never Tell became a bestseller, and she has been published in more than twelve different languages.

Social Media

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/ClaireSeeberAuthor/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/claireseeber

Website: http://www.claireseeber.comInstagram:

 https://www.instagram.com/claireseeberauthor/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.