#AudioBookReview #TheNewMother by Julia Crouch @thatjuliacrouch @bookouture

I am super excited to share my review with you on publication Day for The New Mother by Julia Crouch

Who would you trust with your precious family?

Wanted: full-time, live-in help for expectant mother. Must be organised, friendly and willing to do anything.

Rachel is determined to be the perfect mother. She has a birth plan, with a playlist and a bag ready by the door. She’s chosen a lovely light cream paint for the nursery, and in wide-eyed, innocent Abbie she’s found the perfect person to help her with her baby.

After all, every mother needs a bit of help, don’t they?

But Rachel needs a little more than most.

She still makes sure her bedroom door is locked before she goes to sleep. She still checks the cameras that are dotted throughout the house.

Rachel trusts Abbie. Even if Abbie’s smiles don’t always reach her eyes, and the stories she tells about her past don’t always add up, it doesn’t matter.

Because Rachel knows better than to trust herself…

From the bestselling author of Her Husband’s Lover, this is a truly gripping story about how far people will go to find a family. Filled with tension and twists, it is perfect for fans of Ruth Ware, Shari LaPena and The Girl on the Train.

My Thoughts

This is the first time I have read anything by Julia and it sure has hell wont be the last! I really, really enjoyed it this audio. Which is 12 hours and 11 minutes long and only taken me a few days to devour it. That is pretty quick for an audio . I loved the narrator, Kirsty Dillon who has done a wonderful job of bringing this story to life. I couldn’t get enough of it. I was listening to it any chance that I had. I was even walking further just to get some extra listening time in.

In this book we meet Rachel who is pregnant and looking for live in help, every mother needs help don’t they?! Then along comes Abbie. The woman Rachel decides to give the job to. We follow a story about the relationship between the two woman. The narrators voice really suits the characters and it all felt real and believable.

Which starts off good. then has the story gets deeper something isn’t right but what….I didn’t know . Talk about building up the tension and keeping me guessing. Also loved the humour in the conversations between them. Some making me giggle when Rachel does into labour. You cant beat a mix of humour in a thriller story.

I love the Instagram posts at the end of the chapters with Rachel being a social media influence. Which is clearly shows that this is a modern story. And in all honesty something that I wouldn’t normally read or listen to. I could relate having children myself and going through the pregnancy twice. So for me it was something different and utterly addictive. Not forgetting I have found a new author to read.

Thank you to Bookouture for an ARC of this brilliant audio. All thoughts are my own and not biased in anyway.

Available on audio:

UK: http://ow.ly/3b2G50Gpbwd

US: http://ow.ly/ISHA50Gpbws

Headphone

Listen to a sample here: http://ow.ly/HQ0j50Gpbwt

Amazon: http://ow.ly/a70I50GpbnO

Apple: http://ow.ly/SEQD50GpbnP

Kobo: http://ow.ly/P05G50GpbnR

Google: http://ow.ly/WbRi50GpbnQ

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.