#BookReview #BloodBrothers by Heather Atkinson @HeatherAtkinso1 @BoldwoodBooks

I am super excited to share my review with you today for Blood Brothers by Heather Atkinson

When you’re running the streets, loyalty is everything…

Gangs rule the streets of the rough Gallowburn Estate in Glasgow, but the deepest rivalry of all is between Jamie Gray and his friends, known as the Blood Brothers, and their enemies, the Lawsons.

The two gangs clash frequently, but when a phone containing incriminating evidence disappears after a particularly brutal run-in, the stakes are higher than ever.

Jamie’s mother Jackie is as hard as nails and is not going to let anyone hurt her boy – even if she has to roll up her sleeves and get stuck in. What she wants more than anything though, is to see Jamie turn his back on the street life. And when he meets spoilt rich-girl Allegra, who has a penchant for shoplifting, Jackie thinks she could be Jamie’s way out.

But with the Lawsons closing in, and everyone taking sides, there is only one way out for Jamie, and to triumph he must take out his biggest enemy…

My Thoughts

First of all I am ashamed to say……why have I never read this author before! Where the hell have I been.

So this is the first book in the Gallowburn Series and what a book it is. To say I liked it is an understatement. It is freaking brilliant. The author takes us to Glasgow you can hear the characters accents who spring to life when we meet the Jamie and his family and follow a story that had me gripped from start to finish.

Being a single mother to my sons I instantly took a liking to Jackie, mother of the boys. She is protective and won’t see any harm to her family. She wants them to be happy and has that mother and son bond I have with my sons. She totally stole the show for me. Even though I was totally wrapped up in the whole plot, From romance to feuds this book is full of grit lit.

It has everything you would expect to find in a gangland novel . It is a powerful story and full of action and emotion. I found myself tearing through the pages racing to the end.

The ending…..OMG! I seriously cannot wait to read the next installment of this. This book is without a doubt a 5 star read.

Fans of Kimberly Chambers and Martina Cole will love it

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.