Getting To Know The Character with DS Ruby Preston

Caroline Mitchell joins me today to take part in my
Getting To Know The Character Interview with
Detective Ruby Preston

Can you describe your character?
Ruby Preston is a detective with a heart of gold who, with the best of intentions,
occasionally finds herself on the wrong side of the law.
What is Ruby’s job role and where does she work?
She works out of Shoreditch police station and is a detective sergeant
supervising the serious crime team.
Where did the original idea of Ruby come about?
I’m a huge fan of the TV series Luther and often wondered what it would be
like to have a story based on a female detective who sometimes bent the law.
Her relationship with the notorious Crosby family just popped into my head.
What makes her original?
Ruby is in love with Nathan Crosby, who adds a real element of danger to each
story as her job is compromised.
What makes her tick?
Her sense of justice, of doing the right thing. She wants to speak up for those
who can’t and isn’t afraid to push the boundaries if it means getting a good
What is Ruby’s biggest fear?
Losing her job because of her criminal connections. She’s tried and failed so
many times to leave Nathan Crosby and his family behind but fate keeps
throwing them together.
If you and your character met in real life, do you think you’d get on?
I would love Ruby! Out of all my leading ladies, I would love to step into her
shoes for a day. Having worked for nine years in the police myself, I would enjoy
the freedom that Ruby is allowed, without having to focus too much on the
boring stuff like paperwork, targets and red tape.
Who would you like to see play them if your books were made into a film
or TV show?
This is the fun bit… Laura Prepon (Alex from Orange is the new black) for
Ruby Preston.
Tom Hardy to play Nathan Crosby (he needs no introduction)
Warren Brown (DS Ripley from Luther) to play Luddy / DS Ludgrove
Liam Neilson to play DI Jack Downes

How many books do you have in the series so far?
There are three books in the series. Like all my books, each can be read as a
stand alone but for character progression you’re better off reading them in order.
What’s in store for them next?
My DS Ruby Preston series is now complete, but the good news is that I’m
publishing a brand new series with publishers Thomas & Mercer next year.
It features the very unique DI Amy Winter. I can’t wait to share more with
you real soon.
You can check out the series on Amazon right now by clicking the link below
Amazon UK
Amazon US

About the Author

USA Today Bestselling Thriller Author.
Caroline originates from Ireland and now lives with her family in a pretty village
on the coast of Essex. A former police detective, Caroline has worked in CID
and specialised in roles dealing with vulnerable victims, high-risk victims of
domestic abuse, and serious sexual offences. She now writes full time.
Set in Shoreditch, London, her DS Ruby Preston trilogy is described as
terrifying, addictive serial killer thrillers.
Caroline also writes psychological thrillers. The most recent, Silent Victim,
has been described as ‘brilliantly gripping and deliciously creepy’. Her new
DI Amy Winter series is published by Thomas & Mercer and launches 2018.
Sign up to join her Reader’s club for access to news, updates and exclusive
competitions and giveaways.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.